Demo and prototype

Lovable vs v0 vs Bolt.new: which to pick for a demo by Friday

Three chat-to-app builders that all get a clickable, hosted demo live in days. Pick Lovable for a full-stack demo a non-engineer can drive, v0 if the demo must look like your product or land in your Next.js repo, and Bolt if you want the largest free allowance and a Figma frame as the starting point.

Yes, with caveats

Lovable vs v0 vs Bolt.new: which to pick for a demo by Friday

1. Overview

Short answer: all three will get a clickable, hosted demo onto a real URL before Friday. The choice turns on one constraint.

  • Lovable if a non-engineer is driving and the demo needs real sign-in and data. Publishing is two clicks to a lovable.app address, Git sync is on every plan, and the docs pitch it at people with “no technical knowledge needed” (Pricing, Publish, Plans).
  • v0 if the demo has to look like your product or end up in your codebase. It builds in Next.js, React, Tailwind and shadcn/ui, has a visual Design Mode on the free plan, and can import a GitHub repo and ship through pull requests on Vercel (FAQs, Pricing, Deployments).
  • Bolt.new if you want the most free capacity or want to start from a Figma frame. The free plan gives 1M tokens a month (300K a day) with hosting included, and Figma frames import from the homepage (Bolt pricing, Bolt Figma).

The verdict is yes-with-caveats because each free plan runs out fast on a real demo, the usage units (credits, dollar credits, tokens) are not comparable across vendors, and the polish you want for a stakeholder demo (custom domain, no badge, code access) mostly sits behind the cheapest paid tier.

This page compares published plans and documented features as of 28 October 2026. Prices are in USD, change often, and should be re-checked live. We have not run timed builds, so there are no speed or quality scores here.

2. How it scores on the rubric

CriterionLovablev0Bolt.newEvidence
Time-to-usefulPrompt, then Publish twice to a live lovable.app URL; a quick security scan runs on publishPrompt, then Publish to a vercel.app URL; previews run the full app in a sandbox, so server routes and databases work before you shipPrompt or import a Figma frame; hosting is included on the free planLovable publish, v0 deployments, v0 FAQs, Bolt pricing
FidelityFull-stack: auth, database and hosting through its built-in Cloud backend, billed from the same creditsFull-stack on Next.js with one-click Supabase, Neon, Upstash and Blob integrationsFull-stack: Bolt Cloud bundles hosting, databases, auth and user managementLovable credits, v0 FAQs, Bolt homepage
Non-engineer usabilityStrongest of the three for chat-only driving; Plan mode lets you think before it changes codeChat plus a visual Design Mode for spacing, type and colour tweaks without codeChat-first; the homepage names product managers as a target userLovable credits, v0 Design mode, Bolt homepage
Design-system fidelityDesign systems on all paid plans for React component libraries; wrapping an npm package is Enterprise onlyDesign Systems 2.0 learns your repo, tokens, Storybook and Figma, then verifies a starter app; Figma import on paid plansFigma frame import via Anima; design system knowledge is a Teams featureLovable design systems, v0 Design Systems 2.0, v0 Figma, Bolt Figma, Bolt pricing
Human gatesAsks before publishing from chat unless you auto-approve; long runs check in at a credit thresholdNever pushes to main; changes go through a pull request and GitHub branch protection still appliesPrivate sharing and team admin controls are paid features; audit logs are EnterpriseLovable publish, Lovable credits, v0 FAQs, Bolt pricing
HandoffGit sync with GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket on every plan; editing and downloading code needs ProGitHub import and two-way sync on Free; engineers can keep working in Cursor or Claude Code on the same repoStart from GitHub on the homepage; private NPM registries on TeamsLovable plans, v0 pricing, v0 FAQs, Bolt homepage, Bolt pricing

Fit for this section. For a Friday demo the question is not which tool is best but which constraint bites. If nobody on the team will open the code, Lovable is the safest bet. If the demo must use your real components or survive into engineering, v0’s repo and design-system path is the most honest about handoff. If budget is zero until the demo lands, Bolt’s free token allowance is the largest stated free quota of the three, though tokens, credits and dollars are not directly comparable.

3. Comparison table

Lovablev0Bolt.new
Free plan5 build credits a day, up to 30 a month, plus small monthly Cloud and AI grants7 messages a day; new users get a one-time $5 credit1M tokens a month, 300K a day
Cheapest paidPro from $25 a month (100 credits), unlimited membersPlus $30 per user a month ($30 credits each, plus $2 daily on login)Pro $25 a month (10M tokens, rollover)
Team tierBusiness from $50 a month, adds SSO and role-based accessBusiness $100 per user a month, training opt-out by defaultTeams $30 a month, adds admin controls and design system knowledge
Pricing unitCredits, priced per message by complexityDollar credits drawn down by model token ratesTokens, mostly spent syncing project files to the AI
StackNot stated on pricing pagesNext.js, React, TypeScript, Tailwind, shadcn/uiNot stated on pricing pages
Hostinglovable.app, custom domain on paidVercel, custom domain via VercelIncluded; custom domain and no branding on Pro
Free-plan catchNo code editing or download; “Edit with Lovable” badgeFigma import is paid; low daily message capBolt branding; no custom domain or private sharing
Affiliate programmeYes, publicNone confirmedNone found
SourcesPlans, CreditsPricing, Docs pricing, FAQsPricing

4. FAQ

Which is fastest for a demo by Friday?

All three can put a working app on a live URL the same day; we have not timed them, so we will not rank speed. Lovable has the shortest publish path we found documented (two clicks), v0 publishes to Vercel from one button, and Bolt includes hosting on the free plan (Lovable publish, v0 deployments, Bolt pricing).

Can I do the whole demo on a free plan?

Possibly, for a small one. Lovable’s free plan stops at 30 build credits a month, v0’s at 7 messages a day, and Bolt’s at 1M tokens a month with 300K a day. Expect to pay for at least one month if you iterate a lot or want a custom domain without the vendor badge (Lovable plans, v0 pricing, Bolt pricing).

Which one makes the demo look like our product?

v0, if you have a component library: Design Systems 2.0 reads your repo, tokens, Storybook and Figma and checks a starter app with you before saving (v0 Design Systems 2.0). Lovable supports React design systems on paid plans, and Bolt adds design system knowledge on Teams (Lovable design systems, Bolt pricing).

I only have a Figma file. Which should I start in?

Bolt and v0 both import Figma. Bolt imports a frame from the homepage using Anima; v0 can read a whole file and build several frames as one flow, but only on paid plans (Bolt Figma, v0 Figma).

What happens after the demo if engineering wants the code?

v0 has the cleanest path: it imports or connects a GitHub repo, works on a branch and ships through pull requests. Lovable syncs to GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket on every plan. Bolt lets you start from GitHub (v0 FAQs, Lovable plans, Bolt homepage).

Is there an affiliate programme?

Lovable runs a public affiliate programme (Lovable affiliates). We found no programme for v0 or Bolt. This page carries no affiliate links and the verdict does not depend on them.

5. Sources

  1. Lovable pricing
  2. Subscription plans (Lovable docs)
  3. Credits and usage (Lovable docs)
  4. Publish your Lovable project (Lovable docs)
  5. Design systems (Lovable docs)
  6. Lovable affiliate partners
  7. v0 pricing
  8. Pricing (v0 docs)
  9. FAQs (v0 docs)
  10. Design mode (v0 docs)
  11. Design Systems 2.0 (v0 docs)
  12. Figma (v0 docs)
  13. Deployments (v0 docs)
  14. Bolt pricing
  15. Bolt (homepage)
  16. Figma for design (Bolt help centre)