Dovetail
Customer intelligence platform that transcribes, tags and summarises interviews, usability sessions, surveys and feedback, with AI Chat on Free and Agents and Digital Twins on Enterprise. It analyses evidence you bring; it does not recruit participants or run tests.
Dovetail
1. Overview
Dovetail (dovetail.com) now calls itself a “Customer Intelligence Platform”. It pulls in calls, interviews, usability sessions, surveys, tickets and reviews, then transcribes, summarises, clusters and lets you query them (Homepage). For this section, the question is: can one builder validate a problem and success criteria with real users, with no research team? Dovetail is half the answer. It makes sense of evidence you collect yourself. It does not find participants or run tests, so it needs a partner tool or your own customer list.
Surfaces to keep distinct
| Surface | What it is | Plan signal | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Projects | One study: interviews, usability recordings, survey responses. Auto transcription in 82 languages, speaker detection, summaries, suggested highlights | Free includes one project; more needs Enterprise | Projects, Transcribe a video |
| Chat | Ask questions of your data with traceable answers | Free (single project); advanced on Enterprise | Pricing, Homepage |
| Channels | Continuous feedback streams (support, reviews, sales calls) classified into themes and ideas | Free includes one channel; unlimited on Enterprise | Pricing, Integrations |
| Agents | Scheduled or triggered AI runs that monitor signals, write up findings and act in other tools | Enterprise (“Unlimited Agents”) | Pricing, Launch post |
| Digital Twins | Queryable models of a customer or segment built only from your own data, with cited answers | “Available on all paid plans” | Digital Twins post |
| Developer surfaces | API, CLI and MCP server; MCP connectors for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot | Listed in docs; check plan with Sales | Integrations |
Naming overlaps: several unrelated businesses use the Dovetail name, including a workwear brand and a partnerships consultancy. This page covers dovetail.com and docs.dovetail.com only.
Pricing (re-check live): two plans. Free is “$0, no card required” with one project, one channel and one dashboard. Enterprise is custom priced and sold through Sales (Pricing, Purchase a paid plan). Dovetail says it no longer offers self-serve paid plans, and has no mid-tier, student, nonprofit or academic pricing (Purchase a paid plan). Enterprise billing combines a platform fee, users and a shared credit balance. Each processed data point (for example one video recording) uses 1 credit. Overages are $0.15 per credit and $20 per extra user per month (Credits and usage). Free plan data or AI usage caps beyond the one project, channel and dashboard: not stated publicly on the pages reviewed.
Vendor claims to read with care: the homepage cites “30hrs weekly time saved per user” and “66% faster shipping”, the latter shown beside a link to a Forrester Total Economic Impact study (Homepage). These are not independent benchmarks.
2. How it scores on the rubric
| Criterion | Assessment | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Time-to-useful | Quick once you have recordings. Dovetail says processing takes about 30% of file length, so a 60-minute call is roughly 20 minutes. Calendar rules can auto-import Zoom, Meet or Teams interviews into a project. Time to get participants: not applicable, Dovetail does not supply them | Import data, Transcribe a video |
| Fidelity (of evidence) | High for qualitative “why”: verbatim transcripts, highlights, clips and cited Chat answers. Only as good as the conversations you ran. Digital Twins add speed, not new evidence, and their answers are generated, however well sourced | Homepage, Digital Twins post |
| Non-engineer usability | High. Upload or connect a meeting tool and analysis starts automatically. The real skill is interview design and not over-reading AI summaries | Transcribe a video, Projects |
| Design-system / prototype fidelity | Indirect. No prototype testing. A Figma Make connector (MCP) lets a prototype prompt pull Dovetail quotes, highlights and transcripts as context | Figma Make integration |
| Human gates | You choose what to import, can edit transcripts and set summary frameworks; suggested highlights can be turned off. Agents can act in Salesforce, Slack or ticketing on their own, so gate them deliberately | Projects, Launch press release |
| Handoff | Strong. Create Jira and Linear issues from feedback, send notes to Productboard, embed in Notion and Atlassian tools, query from Slack or Teams, and reach data through MCP from Claude, ChatGPT or Copilot | Connected apps, Integrations |
Fit for this section (verdict: yes-with-caveats). For a solo builder who talks to customers, Free is a genuinely useful single project: record or import five to ten problem interviews, let Dovetail transcribe and summarise, then pull cited quotes into a problem statement and success criteria. That is the honest core. The caveats: it brings no users to you, the only step up from one project is a Sales-led Enterprise contract, and the most marketed features (Agents, Digital Twins) are paid and aimed at organisations with lots of existing feedback. A Digital Twin cannot tell you whether a new problem is real for people you have not spoken to yet.
3. Comparison within this section
| Dovetail | Maze | |
|---|---|---|
| Core job | Analyse and store evidence you bring | Collect evidence through tests and surveys |
| Participants | None supplied | Pay-per-response panel |
| Best stage | Problem discovery interviews, post-launch feedback | Prototype and usability validation |
| Self-serve | Free (one project); then Enterprise via Sales | Free; Enterprise for interviews and AI moderator |
| Sources | Pricing | Maze pricing |
4. FAQ
Can a solo builder validate a problem with Dovetail and no research team?
Partly. Dovetail analyses interviews and feedback you collect, with transcription, summaries and cited Chat answers on the Free plan (Pricing). You still need to find and talk to the people yourself, or use another tool to recruit.
Is Dovetail free?
There is a Free plan with one project, one channel and one dashboard, no card required. Beyond that the only option is Enterprise through Sales (Purchase a paid plan).
How much does Dovetail Enterprise cost?
Not stated publicly. It is priced on platform, users and credits; overages are $0.15 per credit and $20 per extra user per month (Credits and usage).
Does Dovetail recruit participants or run usability tests?
Not on the pages reviewed. It imports recordings from Zoom, Meet, Teams and file uploads, and reports from Outset, an AI interview tool (Connected apps, Outset integration).
What are Dovetail Digital Twins?
Models of a customer or segment built only from your own calls, tickets, surveys and research, with answers that cite the source quote. Available on paid plans (Digital Twins post).
Does Dovetail work with Figma Make or AI assistants?
Yes. Figma Make can pull Dovetail data over MCP, and there are MCP connectors for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot (Figma Make integration, Integrations).
Is there an affiliate programme?
No. Dovetail’s docs say it has no reseller or supplier programme (Purchase a paid plan), and no affiliate page was found. No affiliate programme is joined.
5. Sources
- Dovetail (homepage)
- Dovetail pricing
- Purchase a paid plan (Dovetail docs)
- Update your subscription (Dovetail docs)
- How credits and usage-based pricing work (Dovetail docs)
- Projects (Dovetail docs)
- Transcribe a video (Dovetail docs)
- Import data to projects (Dovetail docs)
- Technical limits (Dovetail docs)
- Integrations (Dovetail docs)
- Connected apps (Dovetail docs)
- Figma Make integration (Dovetail docs)
- Outset integration (Dovetail docs)
- Digital Twins and AI Agents are now in Dovetail (Dovetail blog, 17 July 2026)
- Dovetail Summer Launch 26 press release (Dovetail blog, 14 July 2026)